राष्टीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान अगरतला

National Institute of Technology Agartala

OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR



MINUTES OF TWENTY EIGHTH SENATE MEETING

HELD ON

2nd and 9th NOVEMBER, 2018 (rescheduled)

AT 3.00 pm.

राष्टीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान अगरतला

National Institute of Technology Agartala OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR

BLANK PAGE

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY AGARTALA

Barjala, Jirania, Agartala – 799046 (Tripura) OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR registrarnita@rediffmail.com, 0381-2548507

राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान अगरतला

NITA.5/(7-Acad) /SENATE/2018-19/ 8 8 2

Date: 09/11/2018

Minutes of the 28th Senate Meeting

The 28th meeting of SENATE of National Institute of Technology Agartala was held on 2nd and 9th November, 2018(rescheduled) in the Board Room of Administrative Building of NIT, Agartala at 3.00 PM. The following members and invite members attended the meeting:

1.	Prof. H. K. Sharma Director, NIT Agartala	Chairman
2.	Prof. S. C. Saha Professor (CE), NIT Agartala	Member
3.	Prof. Richi Prasad Sharma, Professor (CE), NIT Agartala	Member
4.	Prof. Umesh Mishra Professor (CE), NIT Agartala	Member
5.	Dean (Academic) NIT Agartala	Invitee
6.	Dean (R & C) NIT Agartala	Invitee
7.	Dean (P & D) NIT Agartala	Invitee
8.	Dean (FW1) NIT Agartala	Invitee
9.	Dean (FW) NIT Agartala	Invitee
10.	Chairman (AA & IR) NIT Agartala	Invitee
11.	Head of the Department Civil Engineering Department, NIT Agartala	Invitee
12.	Head of the Department Mechanical Engineering Department, NIT Agartala	Invitee

MINUTES OF 28TH SENATE 09/11/2018 Agartala- 799046, India, website- www.nita.ac.in, Ph-0381-2546630 Fax: 0381-2546360

राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान अगरतला



-

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY AGARTALA

Barjala, Jirania, Agartala – 799046 (Tripura) OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR

registrarnita@rediffmail.com, 0381-2548507

	registramita@redifinali.com, 0381-254
 Head of the Department Electrical Engineering Department, NIT Agartala 	Invitee
14. Head of the Department Computer Sc & Engineering Department, NIT Agartala	Invitee
15. Head of the Department Electronics and Comm. Engineering Department, NIT Agartala	Invitee
16. Head of the Department Electronics and Instru. Engineering Department, NIT Agartala	Invitee
17. Head of the Department Production Engineering Department, NIT Agartala	Invitee
18. Head of the Department Chemical Engineering Department, NIT Agartala	Invitee
19. Head of the Department Bio-Engineering Department, NIT Agartala	Invitee
20. Head of the Department Chemistry Department, NIT Agartala	Invitee
21. Head of the Department Physics Department, NIT Agartala	Invitee
22. Head of the Department Mathematics Department, NIT Agartala	Invitee
23. Head of the Department Humanities and Social Science Department, NIT Agartala	Invitee
24. Head of School of Management, NIT Agartala	Invitee

G3/ce



राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान अगरतला NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY AGARTALA Barjala, Jirania, Agartala – 799046 (Tripura) OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR

registrarnita@rediffmail.com, 0381-2548507

 Dr. Govind Bhargava, Registrar, NIT Agartala Secretary, Senate

Professor H. K. Sharma, Chairman SENATE welcomed all the members who attended the 28th meeting of SENATE of the Institute. He then requested all the members to take part in the discussion on the limited agenda points of the meeting. After this the Chairman SENATE requested Dean (Academic) to place all the agenda points one by one for open discussion.

The Dean (Academic) then welcomed all the members of the SENATE who were present in the meeting and requested to come forward with their valuable suggestions on the agenda points. After that he placed all the 06 agenda points one by one. Members present in the meeting took part in the discussion and gave their considered views. After detailed discussion the following decisions were adopted:

<u>Item No. S/28/01</u> Confirmation of the minutes of 27th meeting of SENATE held on 26th September 2018.

The SENATE approved and confirmed the minutes of 27th meeting of SENATE held on 26th September 2018 after deliberations.

Item No. S/28/02 Awarding the degree of Doctor of Letters (Honoris Causa) to Prof. Kaptan Singh Solanki, Honorable Governor of Tripura and the degree of Doctor of Engineering (Honoris Causa) to Sri Smaran Choudhury an alumnus and an entrepreneur in the 11th convocation of NIT Agartala.

The SENATE approved and confirmed the proposal to award degree of Doctor of Letters (Honoris Causa) to Prof. Kaptan Singh Solanki, Honorable Governor of Tripura in the 11th Convocation of this Institute.

The SENATE also approved and confirmed the proposal to award the degree of Doctor of Engineering (Honoris Causa) to Sri Smaran Choudhury an alumnus and an entrepreneur in the 11th Convocation of this Institute.

Item No. S/28/03 Result of Ph.D in Engineering and Science for awarding Ph.D Degree in the 11th Convocation.

The Senate ratified and confirmed for awarding Ph.D Degree in the 11th Convocation to the following Ph.D scholars who were awarded provisional Ph.D degree:

Page 3

राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान अगरतला NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY AGARTALA Barjala, Jirania, Agartala – 799046 (Tripura)

Barjala, Jirania, Agartala – 799046 (Tripura) OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR registrarnita@rediffmail.com, 0381-2548507

SI. No	Name of the Student	Enrollment No.	Supervisor/(s) Name
1.	Sangita Das	12DMA011	Dr. Paritosh Bhattacharya Dr. Uttam Kumar Bera
2.	Suman Bhowmik	14EDECR003	Dr. Sambhu Nath Pradhan Dr. Bidyut K. Bhattacharyya
3.	Arun Bera	13DPHR001	Dr. Biswajit Saha

The SENATE approved and confirmed the proposal of awarding Ph.D degree to the 3 Ph.D scholars in the 11th convocation. The SENATE also authorized the Chairman SENATE to award Ph.D degree to the Ph.D scholars whose formalities for award of such degree would be completed by 06/11/2018.

Item No. S/28/04

Consideration and ratification of reduction of seats of M.Tech programme in Academic Departments under sponsored category from the academic session 2019-20.

The SENATE approved and confirmed the proposal of reduction of seats of M.Tech programme under sponsored category from the academic session 2019-20 from 60 to 10 only. The SENATE also approved and confirmed inter Departmental flexibility of seats depending upon the availability of candidates.

Item No. S/28/05 Consideration and ratification of the result of 3 B.Tech students who passed B.Tech in 2018 after 27th meeting of SENATE for awarding degree in the 11th convocation of NIT Agartala.

The SENATE ratified and confirmed the result of the following B.Tech students who passed B.Tech examination 2018 after the 27th meeting of SENATE of this Institute for awarding degree in the 11th convocation:

SL NO	ENTOLLMENT	NAME OF THE STUDENT	CGPA
1	14UEE058	Pramit Noatia	5.87
2	12UCE174	Prabhat Kumar	5.59
3	14UPE057	Hemant Kumar	6.24

Item No. S/28/06 Starting M.Tech programme in the specialization Material Science and Engineering (MSE) from the academic session 2019-20.

The SENATE approved starting of M.Tech programme in the Department of Production Engineering in the specialization Material Science and Engineering (MSE) with an intake capacity of 10 (ten). The SENATE also approved the detailed course structure and syllabus of the new specialization to be started from the academic session 2019-20 with the suggestion that the eligibility conditions are to be finalized by the Department with in 15 days



राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान अगरतला NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY AGARTALA Barjala, Jirania, Agartala – 799046 (Tripura) OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR registramita@rediffmail.com, 0381-2548507

from the date of issue of this minutes and place it before the Chairman SENATE for approval.

All the decisions were taken unanimously. The Meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

parael.

(Prof. H. K. Sharma) Chairman, SENATE

(Dr. G. Bhargava)

Secretary, SENATE