

राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान अगरतला

Sectional Institute of Technology Agartala

OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR YEARS OF EXCELLENCE registrarnita@rediffmail.com, 0381-2348507, 8974056780

No.NITA.5/(7-Acad)/SENATE/2013-14/.A.-/26

Dated: 07/11/2014

Minutes of the 16th Senate Meeting

The 16th SENATE meeting of National Institute of Technology Agartala is held on 7th November, 2014 in the conference hall of NIT, Agartala at 12.00 noon and the following members remained present:

01.	Prof. Gopal Mugeraya	Chairman
	Director, NIT Agartala	
02.	Prof. Subhas Chandra Saha	Member
	Professor (ME) NIT Agartala	
03.	Prof. Umesh Mishra	Member
	Professor (CE) NIT Agartala	
04.	Prof. R. P. Sharma	Member
	Professor (CE) NIT Agartala	
	& Dean (Acad)	
05.	Dean, R & C	Invitee
	NIT, Agartala	
06.	Dean, P & D	Invitee
	NIT, Agartala	
07.	Dean, FW	Invitee
	NIT, Agartala	
08.	Dean, SW	Invitee
	NIT, Agartala	
09.	Head of the Department	Invitee
	Civil Engineering Department	
	NIT, Agartala	
10.	Head of the Department	Invitee
	Mechanical Engineering Department	
	NIT, Agartala	20.2
11.	Head of the Department	Invitee
	Electrical Engineering Department	
4.5	NIT, Agartala	2.04
12.	Head of the Department	Invitee
	Computer Sc & Engineering Department	
0.00	NIT, Agartala	4.00
13.	Head of the Department	Invitee
	Electronics & Comm. Engineering Department	
	NIT, Agartala	
14.	Head of the Department	Invitee
	Electronics & Inst. Engineering Department	
	NIT, Agartala	
15.	Head of the Department	Invitee
	Production Engineering Department	
	NIT, Agartala	
16.	Head of the Department	Invitee
	Chemical Engineering Department	
	NIT, Agartala	



राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान अगरतला

National Institute of Technology Agartala

OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR YEARS OF EXCELLENCE registrarnita@rediffmail.com, 0381-2348507, 8974056780

registrarinta a redifficant.com,	0301-2340307, 0374030700
Head of the Department	Invitee
Bio Engineering Department	
NIT, Agartala	
Head of the Department	Invitee
Chemistry Department	
NIT, Agartala	
Head of the Department	Invitee
Physics Department	
NIT, Agartala	
Head of the Department	Invitee
Mathematics Department	
NIT, Agartala	
Head of the Department	Invitee
Humanities Department	
NIT, Agartala	
Head of School of Management	Invitee
	Head of the Department Bio Engineering Department NIT, Agartala Head of the Department Chemistry Department NIT, Agartala Head of the Department Physics Department NIT, Agartala Head of the Department NIT, Agartala Head of the Department Mathematics Department NIT, Agartala Head of the Department NIT, Agartala Head of the Department Humanities Department NIT, Agartala

NIT, Agartala

23. Controller of Examinations
NIT, Agartala

Invitee

24. Sri Sumanta Chakrabarti Secretary, SENATE Registrar (I/C), NIT Agartala

The Chairman of the SENATE, NIT Agartala, at the outset informed the SENATE that the tenure of the Chairman of the Board of Governors, NIT Agartala was over on May 09, 2014 and no further communication was received from the MHRD regarding selection of the new Chairman or continuation of the Chairman, Prof. P.N. Singh till final nomination of the new Chairman. However, it is confirmed by MHRD that the communication regarding appointment of the new Chairman may be sent by MHRD at any point of time today.

As per provision of Section 16(1) of the NIT Act 2007 – "The Chairman shall ordinarily preside at the meeting of the Board and at the Convocation of the Institute".

The 7th Convocation of NIT Agartala is scheduled to be held on November 08, 2014. The First Statutes of NIT 2009 vide Section 17(15) states that "In the event of the occurrence of any vacancy in the office of the Chairman by reason of his death, resignation or otherwise or in the event of the Chairman being unable to discharge his functions owing to absence, illness or any other cause, the Director may discharge the functions assigned to the Chairman under section 16 of the Act".

After detailed discussions, the SENATE authorized the Director, NIT Agartala, who is discharging the functions of the Chairman as per provision of the NIT Act 2007 and First Statute of NIT 2009 due to vacancy in the post of Chairman, to preside over the Convocation, confer Degrees to the degree recipients, sign the Degree Certificates both as the Director and the Chairman, BoG (in absence of Chairman) and perform all other duties assigned to the Chairman of BoG, NIT Agartala as per Act and Statute of NIT.



राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान अगरतला

National Institute of Technology Agartala

OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR YEARS OF EXCELLENCE il.com, 0381-2348507, 8974056780

The SENATE also decided that if the formal communication is received from MHRD before the 7th Convocation, then the Chairman of the BOG, NIT Agartala

MHRD before the 7th Convocation, then the Chairman of the BOG, NIT Agartala will preside over the 7th Convocation, sign the degree certificates & scroll as the Chairman and confer degrees to the recipients.

Item No. S/16/01

Consideration and Ratification of award of Ph.D in Science and Engineering in the 7th Convocation of the Institute.

The SENATE after discussion has ratified the award of Ph.D to the following Ph.D Scholars in the 7th Convocation.

Sl	Name and Enrollment No. of the Scholar	Discipline
No		
1	Soma Das 10DCY002	Science
2	Panchatapa Bhowmik 10DPH002	Science
3	Angshuman Chakraborty 10DEC002	Engineering

The decision has been taken unanimously. The Meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Prof. Gopal Mugeraya)

Chairman, SENATE

(Sumanta Chakrabarti) Secretary, SENATE